Nft Domain Song Titles White Paper By Drumkoon

Drumkoon
4 min readApr 1, 2022
Music Artwork

Nft Domain Song Titles White Paper
by Drumkoon
03/31/2022

Spotify pays peanuts, so as a DIY musician I was forced to look at alternatives to unlock meaningful value from my music.

My first alternative attempt involved naming songs after smart speaker commands. I named an album,”OK Google Play Music” and had it fully registered with US Copyright.Gov. However, Spotify and associated digital streaming providers deleted and banned that registered music artwork from their platforms. How could they censor a copyright registed with the highest copyright office in the world? Because they have centralized so much music valuation power under their platform. They effectively decide how artists ought not to name their songs as per their policies.

My story was captured in the famous episode of Reply All podcast episode #183 The Venova King.
https://open.spotify.com/playlist/7y6lncU8ZJkO2TtC3qxUru

Spotify also deleted and banned a major chunk of my my music catalog from their platform. Digital streaming provider policies banning “Search Engine Optimized music titles” were instituted.

My banned musical works including “Ok Google Play Music” are currently available on Drumkoon.Bandcamp.Com and I will make them available soon as NFTs on the block chain, where music and art cannot be censored.

After these shenanigans, it became apparent to me that the naming of a song should be decentralized from the control of the likes of Spotify. Artists alone should have the prerogative to name their songs or artworks whatever they want.

Sometime in February 2022, I read in the press that Snoop had purchased the Death Row Records music label from Blackstone and that he was planning to relaunch it as an nft only music label. I began to investigate the music NFT space more eagerly but it soon became apparent to me that Snoop was leveraging his fame to sell NFTs. I could not see the prospect of a much less famous artist having the same success with selling music NFTs.

I normally surf the internet on duck duck go and brave browsers to avoid being targeted by ads, but on the 12th of March 2022 , I was targeted by a peculiar advert while doomscrolling about the Russian invasion of Ukraine on Google News, on my mobile phone.

The ad seemed like a much needed distraction. It said something about nft domains with no annual renewal fees that you own forever. I hate paying annual fees on domains, so I clicked the ad and woosh I landed on a page called unstoppabledomains.com (This is not an endorsement but a true story)

I was presented with a search bar for a domain name and naturally I thought of securing my musician name, so I typed “Drumkoon” and I when I saw that it was available, I chose the suffix NFT because the term has become such a famous web3 term. The cost was only USD$20. With a few clicks I checked out my order and became the proud owner of drumkoon.nft

Afterwards, I minted the domain to make sure it was effectively mine. Now what, I thought, so I linked the domain to my crypto address, making it easy for anyone to send me crypto. I also set up my very first decentralized IPFS website for the domain.
IPFSHash QmcpqfhiCXjPCsyCyFQeVyZ4mZPcboG6pvvyuQfd5aeu82

Then I started binge buying other interesting music song nft domain names I thought could have future resell value, including:
afterthegoldrush.nft
areyouthatsomebody.nft
dontstopbelievin.nft
edgeofseventeen.nft
geturfreakon.nft
goyourownway.nft
greenonions.nft
letsstaytogether.nft
livinonaprayer.nft
looseyourself.nft
loveandhappiness.nft
powderfinger.nft
sittingonthedockofthebay.nft
summertimesadness.nft
sweetdreamsaremadeofthis.nft
underthebridge.nft

Afterwards I had over 30 nft domains, including the 16 that are named after famous songs of the “Rolling Stone Top 500 Songs of All Time”

So I reached out to Hipgnosis Songs Fund to see if they would be interested in buying my collection but they responded,”We are not interested”

“Now what?” I thought to myself and I spend a couple of days musing what to do with the nft domain collection I have amassed.
Then it hit me on March 30 2022 that I was looking at the utility of nft domains with a wrong perspective.

That is when I had my EURIKA! moment and I knew instantly that I was going to not only make music history, but pioneer a new way of decentralized crowd funding for musicians and artists. Please allow me to explain.

ONE of the major advantages of an nft domain is that it can be used as a crypto wallet address making it easy to send and receive crypto. So I thought, instead of waiting for peanuts from Spotify and the music DSPs, what if I could name my songs after my nft domain names, so that my true music fans can send me direct crypto support using the song title, which also doubles as my crypto wallet address?

With that revelation I set to work on proof of concept and I am therefore officially announcing in this white paper that the world’s first nft Domain name song will be published on the 10th of April 2022 on popular music streaming and music download platforms.
The song is titled drumkoon.nft

The official music video of the song will also be available on Drumkoon Official YouTube channel and it captures my struggle with the music industry.
The nft of the song drumkoon.nft will also be available on OpenSea.io/Drumkoon

Conclusion.
As crypto and crypto transactions are gaining exponential adoption, musicians and other artists can leverage nft domains by naming their works after nft domains they own, so that true fans can easily send crypto support using the nft title of the work. Besides facilitating direct to artist crowd funding these nft Domain names potentially remove the “greedy” middle man from the transaction.
Of course the adoption of nft domains as song names or artwork names will change how art is named, but if the end result financially empowers artists, then so be it.

This is Drumkoon also known as The Venova King.
Real name: Tendai Frank Tagarira
03/31/2022
10:33PM Danish Time.
Email📧drumkoon@duck.com

--

--

Drumkoon

Pioneer of Venova Fusion Music & NFT Domain Song Names. Buy my NFTs at http://Opensea.io/Drumkoon Email📧drumkoon@duck.com